Getting Serious

I have now acquired a decent microphone! I got a Blue Yeti. I’m pretty excited about it. My testing on it sounds so much better than my old mic! I’m looking forward to editing and rerecording Episode 0, which I will probably retitle Episode 1. I am also about 2500 words into Episode 2 on the Paleolithic. I’m just waiting for one of my sources to come in through interlibrary loan and it should be relatively quick to finish. Watch this space!

I also just started a Patreon account (visit at www.patreon.com/historyofgreece). For those of you who haven’t heard of Patreon, it’s a really cool website which acts like a modern grass-roots version of the old patron system for funding artists. Here’s what I mean. Back in ancient Greece, the famous poet Pindar worked writing victory odes for the rich who succeeded in athletic competitions. People like Hiero, the tyrant of Syracuse, would support poets like Pindar at their court while the poet would write and perform. Today, nothing so grand happens. Patreon instead allow individuals to pledge $1 or more to an artist, podcaster, writer, etc. either per work or per month (I’ve chosen the per work model because I will probably post episodes no more than once or twice per month). The greater amount you pledge, the more benefits you get. The artist or writer chooses what these benefits are and details them along the right side of the website. It’s a pretty cool idea and makes sense in a world where it is getting easier for artists, writers, etc. to share their work through non-traditional channels and build up a grass roots audience. Many artists you may recognize are on there including the comic who writes and draws Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal as well as Philosophy Tube even Ryan Stitt who creates the other Greek History podcast.

So check out Patreon. It’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

